willrunforcake.com

When you love to eat, you've got to move.

Nice new shoes

Posted by pjcloud9 on August 15, 2009

If you can’t think of anything else to motivate you to run, get yourself some nice new shoes.  A girl has to treat herself, right?

I always purchase two pairs of running shoes at a time – same style, different colors – and rotate from pair to pair on a weekly basis.  This allows the shoes to bounce back during their rest week, plus I only have to buy shoes once per year instead of every six months.

The shoes of choice?  I am on my fifth & sixth pairs of Mizuno Wave Riders, year three.  The current model is Wave Rider 12, found the best deal via Google Shopping at Goodden’s.   Their price is currently $70 and they arrived quickly.

I like the pink ones best!

I like the pink ones best!

If you have been running or walking for fitness for awhile and you have never switched out the insoles, I highly recommend it.  The insoles that come in the shoes are flimsy and do not hold up for long.  I like Superfeet – they are extremely durable and provide great arch support.  Watch out because you may want to purchase these to put in your casual shoes as well.

I chose Superfeet Blue because I have low to mid arches.

I chose Superfeet Blue because I have low to mid arches.

If you have never shopped with assistance from an expert for walking/running footwear, I highly recommend a trip to The Running Room.  They are very knowledgeable and extremely helpful in finding the right footwear for your foot and your stride.

Happy running!

One Response to “Nice new shoes”

  1. Kelly Groehler said

    Pam – reading your blog for the first time, and I love it. You’re incredibly motivating! And we share a love of two things: Mizuno Wave Riders (ran my one and only marathon, and been wearing ever since) and *good* carrot cake. (I recommend the recipe in Silver Palatte Cookbook, circa 1980s.) Now I’m thinking a race is in my future for 2010. Thank you – and Merry Christmas! KG

Leave a Reply

 
